top of page

Windrider 16.5


The WR16.5 vs. the stock WR16.

Along time back I got interested in trimarans. Then after a life event and wondering what to do with myself from now on I acquired a Windrider WR17. Sailed that puppy for about 10 years in NJ, NC and FL before selling that one to get the Astus 20.2XL. Was jonesing for another Windrider when I came upon a crappy blue salvage WR16 that needed more than TLC. This sad sack had cracks on each aka tube and hole drilled into the keel. So I spent some time with West system G-flex patching her up.

I once saw a WR16 with WR17 floats sailing on the ICW near Caladesi near Dunedin. At the time I thought it weird but effective to float the tri a bit higher with the added buoyancy of the WR17 hulls. So I found another salvage WR16 with WR17 hulls. The main hull was nothing but scrap plastic with usable fittings and hardware, plus a 24 ft mast. So I patched up the cracked white floats and rigged them to the repaired WR16 blue main hull. And the resultant "hybrid" is what my friend Ricky dubbed the WR16.5. I gave all the left over parts to Ricky as he has a lot of Windriders in is boat yard. I did some other mods like stiffen up the mast load post by building up layers of scrap black starboard and 2x6 and pvc pipe. Also replaced the two inner deck pieces with a rescue spine board. Wanted a deck to sit on plus be able to stretch out and sleep on overnighters.

By far, the most expensive item was the new sail from Windrider. Sail cost as much as I have put into the boat. Hey what is the return on the project investment? It is the price of fun in making mistakes by trying to be creative, and the learning experience of doing something you did do before. Such are the choices. I will post more details about the WR16.5 project a bit later, after I make more mistakes, especially about trying an overnighter on this thing.

I did have a faint notion to employ the WR16.5 in the EC this year. However, musical band commitments got in the way. So maybe the EC 2020 may get priority over band stuff.

Ricky and I sailed the WR16s a couple of times: at Lake Tarpon and Ft Desoto. Here are two of Ricky's videos


 THE ARTIFACT MANIFAST: 

 

This is a great space to write long text about your company and your services. You can use this space to go into a little more detail about your company. Talk about your team and what services you provide. Tell your visitors the story of how you came up with the idea for your business and what makes you different from your competitors. Make your company stand out and show your visitors who you are. Tip: Add your own image by double clicking the image and clicking Change Image.

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

10/31/23:  Scandinavian Art Show

 

11/6/23:  Video Art Around The World

 

11/29/23:  Lecture: History of Art

 

12/1/23:  Installations 2023 Indie Film Festival

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
No tags yet.
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 

  Trimarans

First became acquainted with trimaran sailing boats in the late 70s  while on a trip to Miami, riding converted Hobie 16 beach cat hulls that were added to a crafted center hull. Later discovered the rich history of multi-hulls and design from the writings of Jim Brown, Chris White and others.

This blog is will chronicle explicita, past exploits of discovery, sailing nuances and characteristics, plus after market modifications, and sailing adventures on the Astus 20.2 XL model named "Embouchure".

Enjoy reading this blog and please send me your valued comments. 

bottom of page