top of page

Florida 120 day 2, Friday 5/19


What a change in the weather for this day. The wind was due to pick up later in the morning and it did. Some of the fleet were going to stay put and enjoy the beach. A few were going to venture to the next campsite in the challenge, Navarre Beach. That was my direction as I was planning to meet and old friend that moved there, and have not seen him in a few years. So after a good breakfast and cleaning up, sun burned off the dew from the tent on the tramp, it was hoist the sail, anchors aweigh and all that nautical stuff to get under way. Back into the intercoastal, (or so I thought I was on the ICW) it was eastward bound past the Middle Ground channel. Then off to a few bad choices in sailing and navigation, but at the end of the day it’s all good.

Should have reefed. The wind picked up, the water got rough, so I wound the jib and started the motor to help steer the boat. With the jib out, there was just too much sail up and without the jib it was very hard to make a close reach. So the motor assisted the steering. However I was steering in the wrong direction. I saw a bridge way up ahead, and though it was the bridge across Santa Rosa sound. No this was the bridge across the Pensacola Bay. So I was touring the Pensacola bay, in 15 to 20 knts wind and 2 to 3 swells that developed under the wind. Pounding pretty hard. I saw a Mac 26 that had been part of the fleet (was camped next him at Dupont) and he passed me on motor power alone. So with the bridge ahead, thought I was in the right direction. Not.

Then the next mishap. The PVC end piece that I had crafted for the topping lift to work, snapped off the boom aft end. I had also used that fitting to attach the main sheet tackle. Now I got the main sheet flapping wildly, and I point the boat into the wind and waves and bouncing up and down like a fishing line bobber with a large angry flag attached. With a quick inventory check of extra line and devices at hand, I locate a spare cinch strap that can be fastened to the boom to attach the main sheet upper block. Still bouncing, water splashing, I get that strap fastened and the sheet block attached and I am able to restore some sailing control and heading. It’s still rough and know a reef is in order, but with the bouncing and no crew to man the helm, there is no way that I could get that accomplished out on this water. I come about to a port tack and decide to head to a beach head and got there in about twenty minutes of pounding the chop.

I get to this beach, drop a hook to stay put and proceed to reef the main. Took a break for a snack and set off again for the bridge. Dumb me should have realized that this was the wrong bridge, but dumb me sailed under the bridge continued my tour of Pensacola Bay, until the light bulb went off and come to the understanding that I was not on the intercoastal, despite the followed channel markers. Ok, time to go back before it gets too late in the afternoon. Very comfortable now with the reef in, and the water still choppy, I sail back to the beach point where I reefed and came to the conclusion that this Pensacola Bay tour cost about four hours of rough sailing and very little progress to the next meet point.

I rounded the point at a real intercoastal marker and into Santa Rosa Sound. To my delight, the wind dropped off a bit, water was smoother and was able to hold a good heading and shake the reef out while underway. Why could I have not got here sooner? First time in this body of water, should have studied the charts a bit closer and tried to memorize the route. Was also in a bit of a rush to catch up to other sailors who left the Sand Island cove way before me. In hindsight, should have consulted windytv.com for better wind predictions in addition to NOAA radio. Windytv was showing a drop off in wind speed later around noon, and that would have been just right instead of jumping into the fray and pounding water. Probably could have left Sand Island at noon and had an extraordinary sail to Navarre.

Everything is good though. Consulted Mr. Garmin and he helped calculate that the next camp was now about 14 NM from my current position. At current speed of a pleasant 6 to 8 knots on close reach, maybe three hours to get there with sun set closing in on my backside. The sail through Santa Rosa Sound was incredible with tacking maybe seven times. I texted my friend and noted that I would be later that planned at Juan’s Pagoda on Navarre Beach. No problem for a late dinner, they’re up late.

The wind dropped a bit more as the late afternoon was chasing the impending sunset. I texted JF with my ETA. I did manage to get to Navarre about a half hour before sun down, anchored and tent set up before twilight was setting its eyes with the sun down. Nice little place to camp from your boat, launch ramp near by for all those night time yahoo fishermen, Juan’s with loud cover band for the Friday night crowd, lots of stuff going on. Wait, but there’s more, outside showers and flush toilets inside for the camp weary. Good to get a civilized clean up before to meet a friend for dinner. Not everyone in the fleet made it to this waymark, maybe eight boats. JF in his RoG and John in a Core Sound 17 who sailed together, noted that they considered hunkering down at another beach because of such rough water. I briefed them on my Pensacola Bay tour and mishaps, and very nice pre-sunset cruise on the Santa Rosa sound and yeah should have reefed before to set off. But it’s all good because were here where we planned to be for the night. And so it was with another day’s sailing adventure behind us. Was able to get some sleep despite the loud cover band from Juan’s and the boat launch traffic.

As you can see, the Coleman popup instant on the starboard tramp was working well for a tent bunk.


 THE ARTIFACT MANIFAST: 

 

This is a great space to write long text about your company and your services. You can use this space to go into a little more detail about your company. Talk about your team and what services you provide. Tell your visitors the story of how you came up with the idea for your business and what makes you different from your competitors. Make your company stand out and show your visitors who you are. Tip: Add your own image by double clicking the image and clicking Change Image.

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

10/31/23:  Scandinavian Art Show

 

11/6/23:  Video Art Around The World

 

11/29/23:  Lecture: History of Art

 

12/1/23:  Installations 2023 Indie Film Festival

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
No tags yet.
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 

  Trimarans

First became acquainted with trimaran sailing boats in the late 70s  while on a trip to Miami, riding converted Hobie 16 beach cat hulls that were added to a crafted center hull. Later discovered the rich history of multi-hulls and design from the writings of Jim Brown, Chris White and others.

This blog is will chronicle explicita, past exploits of discovery, sailing nuances and characteristics, plus after market modifications, and sailing adventures on the Astus 20.2 XL model named "Embouchure".

Enjoy reading this blog and please send me your valued comments. 

bottom of page